Skip Navigation
Skip Navigation

Be Healthy School Grant Program

Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Alabama will make available $250,000 and award grants up to $10,000 to schools across the state that enroll students in grades K through eight. The grants are for the implementation of school-based health and wellness programs that emphasize increased physical activity and nutritional education during the school year. Grant requests are generally accepted between January and April.

Be Healthy School Grants 2022


Guidelines for Consideration

To be eligible for funding a school must:

  • Be located in Alabama
  • Serve students in grades K-8 (must serve at least one of these grades)
  • Must be public or private school
  • Awards are payable to schools only

Not Eligible for Support

  • Sports leagues or teams of individual schools
  • Any activity deemed inappropriate by BCBSAL

How to Apply

All funding requests must be submitted online.

Apply for Funding

For additional information about The Be Healthy School Grant Program, please contact Heidi Ramey at or 205-220-6881 or or 205-220-7821.


In our commitment to help prevent childhood obesity, Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Alabama’s Be Healthy School Grant Program supports schools throughout Alabama. The grants are for the implementation of school-based health and wellness programs, emphasizing increased physical activity or nutritional education during the school year.

NOTE: The following schools were chosen to receive the grant during the 2021-2022 school year.

School City County
Andalusia Elementary Andalusia Covington
Asbury Elementary Albertville Marshall
Columbia Elementary Madison Madison
Dannelly Elementary Montgomery Montgomery
Edgewood Elementary Selma Dallas
Greenville Middle Greenville Butler
McCalla Elementary Bessemer Jefferson
Hackleburg Elementary Hackleburg Marion
Highland Avenue Elementary Montgomery Montgomery
Highland Home School Highland Home Crenshaw
Homewood Middle Homewood Jefferson
Horseshoe Bend High New Site Tallapoosa
Hueytown Intermediate Hueytown Jefferson
I3 Academy Birmingham Jefferson
James L. Cowart Elementary Athens Limestone
McCalla Elementary Bessemer Jefferson
Monroe Intermediate Lower Peach Tree Monroe
Moody Elementary Moody St. Clair
Moundville Elementary Moundville Hale
Pleasant Home School Andalusia Covington
Saraland Elementary Saraland Mobile
Valley Head School Valley Head DeKalb
Vina School Vina Franklin
Wedowee Middle Wedowee Randolph
West Decatur Elementary Decatur Morgan
Wetumpka Middle Wetumpka Elmore
Wilson Hall Middle Grove Hill Clarke


To watch the 2021 recipients of the Be Healthy School Grant receive their award, please choose a school below: